GLOBAL WAR
ERRATA
[as of July, 1975]

As a result of post-publication playtesting, the
following errata and addenda have been assembled
to clarity and correct various errors and ambi-
guities in the game components. The errata follow
in the sequence of the Global War rules booklet.

|5.52] (addition) An Amphibious Assault may not
be conducted against any coastal or small island
hex that contains an Enemy naval unit other than
MS. SS or Amph.

|5.57] (change) If the invasion is to be conducted
against an occupied hex, the Amphibious units
and the Land Strength Points are placed in the
invasion hex with the Enemy units (this is an
exception to the prohibition upon having opposing
Land units in the same hex). The assaulting units
must attack only the Enemy units in the invaded
hex during the following Combat Phase (unless an
overrun has taken place) and must eliminate or
retreat the Enemy units on the invasion hex, or else
the Amphibious units and the invading Land units
are returned (intact) to the Friendly port(s) they
originated from.

[7.14] (addition) Foritifications on a coastal or
small island hex must take losses before any other
type of Land unit in the hex. Thus, if all fortifi-
cation units in a hex were eliminated, the surviving
Land units would be forced to retreat.

|7.22] (addition) Fortifications are two-Strength-
Point units. They may never be voluntarily broken
down. They may be broken down only as a result of
combuat,

[7.36] (change) There may never be more than two
Strength Points of fortifications (that is, a single
fortitication unit) in a hex unless called for by a
seenario set up.

[12.24] (addigion) Submarines may never be more
than twenty hexes away from a Friendly port in a
Maovement Segment.

[12.41] (change) Merchant Ship counters  are
actually markers representing S00 ships “in the
pipeline” rather than a specific ship or fleet as with
other naval counters. Generally speaking,
Merchant Ships may move only in the Third Naval
Movement and Combat Phase; they may not move
in the first two Phases. They have a maximum
Movement Allowance of 75 hexes. As this process
actually represents a reallocation of shipping
rather than movement per se; Merchant Ships are
not subject to Transit Attacks during the Third
Naval Movement and Combat Phase.

[12.51] (clarification) Amphibious units when
moving during the Naval Movement and Combat
Phase function in certain ways like Merchant
Ships. They may be attacked from five hexes away
and may remain at sea indefinitely. However, they
may move during all three Phases, a maximum of
25 hexes per Phase. Note that they may not be used
in the role of Merchant Ships.

[13.12] (change) Merchant Ships suffer Transit
Attacks only when transporting Land Strength
Points.

[15.0] PROCEDURE (clarification) The instant
the first naval unit moves adjacent to a defending
unit. the attacking Player must announce his
intention to attack or not attack the defending unit
in that Phase. The defender then has the option to
either stand and fight or to retreat one hex

(assuming that the attacking Player has declared
to attack) suffering a Transit Attack, if applicable.
Once a unit has either been attacked or voluntarily
retreated before combat, it may not be attacked
again in the same Phase. It is suggested that once a
defending unit has been attacked or retreated
before combat, that it be inverted as a reminder to
Players that it cannot be attacked again that
Phase. Combat situations are expressed as a
difference between the attacker's total Attack
Strength minus the defender’s total Defense
Strength in the hex under atack. During Transit
Attacks, the Defense Strength of the defender may
be modified, in the case of submarines, depending
upon the mode they are travelling in.

[15.15] (addition) Losses are always determined by
the defender (see 15.21 for exception).

[15.21] (change) Submarines may never be
attacked during the Naval Movement and Combat
Phase; they are subject onmly to Transit and
Counter-Attacks. If submarines are present in a
hex with other defending naval units (i.e.,
Surface-A), they do not add their Defense Strength
to that stack nor may submarines take any losses
called for by the Combat Results Table in such a
situation. If the other naval units opt to retreat
before combat, the submarines do not retreat with
them.

[15.35] (change) ASW units may escort Merchant
Ships. This is done by having a Merchant Ship
Holding Area within the Zone of Control of the
ASW unit. When escorting Merchant Ships, ASW
units may be ‘‘attacked" by submarines, although
they never take losses. The ASW unit adds its
Defense Strength to the Merchant Ship Holding
Area. However, any losses called for by the Combat
Results Table must be taken from the units
occupying the Merchant Ship Holding Area. A
given ASW unit can escort only one Merchant Ship
Holding Area per Phase (or defend one hex of
naval units — see 15.45).

(15.44] (change) ASW units based on all-Land
hexes may be attacked (and caused to suffer losses)
only by Enemy ASW units. ASW units based on
coastal or small island hexes may be attacked by
Surf-A and -B as well as ASW units. In these cases,
the ASW units do suffer the loss called for by the
Combat Results Table.

[15.45] (change) In the event that a fleet of Enemy
Surface-A and -B units attack a hex that contains
Friendly naval units and the hex is in the Zone of
Control of a Friendly ASW unit, the ASW unit can
add its Defense Strength to the defending hex and
can suffer a Depletion result for one of the losses

called for on the Naval Combat Results Table (of
course, the losses may also be extracted from the
ships in the hex under attack). Only one hex can be
so defended per Phase (see also 15.35)

[15.63] (change) Submarines may never be
attacked during the Naval Movement and Combat
Phase. They are subject only to Counter-Attack
and Transit Attacks. If submarines suffer a
Transit Attack, all the submarines in the attacked
hex are attacked as a unit. '

[15.73] (change) In a situation where Surface-B
units Counter-Attack a hex that is in the Zone of
Control or contains ASW units as well as other
naval combat units, the entire Defense Strength of
that hex, including the ASW units, must be
attacked. If the defending Player elects to take
losses in ASW units, the losses are taken as
Depletion results.

[15.74] (change) Delete this rule.

[16.22] (omission) If the Friendly Port traces to a
Supply Center, the fleet in that port may only
defend and Counter-Attack; it may not attack and
it loses its Zone of Control; Movement Allowance
is unaffected.

[16.24] (clarification) Axis naval units that are
attacked while in port or escorting Merchant Ships
during the Third Naval Movement and Combat
Phase have the option to decline combat without
retreating one hex. In such a case, they can suffer
Transit Attacks just as if they had left the hex (or
the Merchant Ships in that hex can be attacked).

[18.94] (addition) Neutrals may not build. or start to
produce fortifications. The US and USSR are
considered neutral until at war with Germany;
Japan is considered neutral until at war with the
U.S.

[19.36] (addition) The Game-Turn that the Axis
first attacks the US (in the Standard Scenario only)
American naval units may not retreat before
combat. This does not apply if the US automati-
cally enters the war and does not apply to the Axis
High Watermark Scenario.

[19.83] (addition) Axis Merchant Ships operating
solely within the Baltic or Adriatic Seas may not be
attacked by Allied units, even if within five hexes
of the Axis Merchant Ship Holding Area.

[20.17] (clarification) The French possession of
New Caledonia (hex E1116) and any Frgnch land
units based there, always become Free French
when France falls, regardless of the declaration of
a Vichy government. French naval units always
tollow the procedure outlined in 20.13.

Die +0 +1 +2 +3 +4
1 ° ° ° ® 1
2 ° ° ° 1
3 ° ° ° 1 2
4 ° ° 1 1 2
5 ° 1 2 3
6 1 1 2 3 4

[22.3] LAND COMBAT RESULTS TABLE (3addition)

45 46 +7 48 +9 +10 l{fﬁ
12 2 3 4 4 1
303 3 4 4 0§ 2
3 03 4 4 5 5 3
3 4 4 5 5 6 4
4 4 5 5 6 6 5
4 S S 6 6 7 6

(Note that this is simply an extension of the existing CRT.)
Differentials higher than **+10"" are treated as **+10."”

)
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[23.1] (clurification) Each nation may start
production ot only one unit of each type on
Game-Turn One.

[23.2] German Set Up (correction) Hex W3420
should be W3422.

Map Errata: In Canada, hexes 3001 through 3005
and hexes 2901 through 290S should be in the
Communications Area (not Undeveloped Area).

EXAMPLES OF COMBAT
#1. [1943) Naval
Japanese units: 4 SS, 3 Surf-A, 1 Surf-B in E2822.

US units: 2 MS, | Surf-A, 2 Surf-B in 2624 and
1 ASW in 2222.

The Japanese ships indicate an attack on the
Merchant Ship Holding Area on 2624. The three
US combat ships opt to retreat before combat to
2525, The Japanese Player decides to make a
Transit Attack on the US combat ships with his
Surt-A rather than have them attack the 2 MS.
Only the Surt-A units can make the Transit Attack
(12 Strength Points). The Defense Strength of the
US ships is 6 plus 2 from the ASW unit on 2222,
The Difterential is +4. The die roll is 2 ('d1"").
One of the Japanese Surf-A becomes Depleted,
and the US Player chooses to lose one Surf-B fleet.
There can be no Counter-Attack.

The two MS on 2624 can now be attacked by the 1
Surf-B- plus 4 SS. Since the submarines are
attacking with a surtace ship, there is no combat
adjustment for distance to a Friendly Port. The
Ditferential is 8 minus 0; or +8 (although the ASW
is in range, it can be used only once per Phase for
defense). A die roll of 6 (**3'") eliminates both of the
Merchant Ships.

#2.(1943| Naval
German units: S SS on W2919,

CW units: 1 ASW on 3118; 2 ASW on 3218; 1
Surt-B. SMS on 3014; 1 Surt-A, 2 MS on 2612; 3
MS on 2617.

The S SS move to 2614, Since they moved through
the Zone of Control of the 3 ASW, the CW Player
decides to-make d Transit Attack. The ASW have

Defense Strength Point total of 10; the Differential
is +2. The die roll is 4 (**d1""). One submarine fleet
is eliminated, but, since there is no Depletion
against submarines, the ASW units are unaffected.
The remaining 4 SS are within S hexes of three
Merchant Ship Holding Areas, and the German
Player decides to attack them in turn. First they
attack the 3 MS on 2617. The 1 ASW on 3118 has
a range of S hexes; a S-hex path can be traced
through the coastal hex of neutral Portugal to
2617. There are four German.Strength Points to
two for the CW, for a Differential of +2. A die roll
of § (adjusted to 4 because of the range to nearest
Friendly Port) indicates 1 MS is sunk. Even though
the ASW Attack Strength is less than the
submarines’ Defense Strength, the ASW can
Counter-Attack on the +0 column. A roll of 3
shows no effect.

Next, the 4 SS attack the Merchant Ship Holding
Area on 2612. With the Surf-A Defense of 2, the
Differential is again +2. The die roll is 1, adjusted
to 0 (a “roll"" of less than 1 means no effect). The
Surf-A Counter-Attacks, using the +0 column, as
did the ASW in the first attack. A roll of 6
eliminates one submarine fleet, but does not
Deplete the Surf-A.

The last attack, against 3014, is impossible since
the two unused ASW on 3218 plus the Surf-B have
a Detfense of 6.

#3. [1944] Naval

Japanese units: | ASW on E2611; 2 Surf-A, 2
Surt-B, I Surf-A (Depleted) on 2413.

US units: S Surf-A, 2 Surt-B on 2414.

The Japanese attack with 20 Strength Points; US
defends with 14. The Differential is +6. A die roll
of S(*'2"") means the US will lose two fleets (the two
Surt-B tleets are removed immediately).

Now 20 US Strength Points Counter-Attack 12
Japanese Strength Points (the ASW and Depleted
Surt-A are counted in). The Difterential is +8. The
Japanese Player does not have the option to retreat
betore combat. The die roll s 6 (3"). The
Japanese Player decides to deplete the ASW and
lose two Surf-B units. He cannot take a loss by
depleting either of the unDepleted Surt-A units.

#4. (Any year| Naval R
Japanese units: | Surf-A, 1 Surf-B, 2 SS on 1724.
US units: | Surf-A, 1 Surf-B, 1 SS on 1824.

The US attacks with a total of nine Strength
Points. Submarines cannot be attacked; so the
Japanese Defense Strength is 4. The Differential is
+5. The die roll is 2 (*'1""). The Japanese Player
removes the Surf-B unit.

If the Japanese Counter-Attack, the US submarine
strength is added in. The Strengths are 4
(Japanese) to 6 (US) for a Differential of -2. Since
the Japanese submarines were not attacked, they
cannot Counter-Attack. If the Japanese Counter-
Attack, they would have to use the +0 column, and
that would mean automatic Depletion of the
Surt-A.

#5 (1944] Air

German units: S AD on 3020.
CW units: 3 LRB on 3020.
US UNIT: 1 LRB on 3020.

First, Table 22.21 is used. The AD Strength (20)
minus the LRB Defense Strength (16) equéxSS +4,
Under the +4 column a die roll of 4 gives “1/A."
One AD Strength Points is eliminated, and 1 LRB
returns immediately to base. '

Now Table 22.22 is used. The surviving LRB
Strength is +6. A die roll of 3 means that the

Industrial Center on 3020 will produte 8
Production Points less than normal for that
Game-Turn.

#6 (1944

German units: 3 Inf, 2 Fortification Strength
Points on 2919.

CW units: 10 Amph, 10 Inf on 2919.

The CW units must attack the Germans on
2919. The Ditterential is +5. The die roll is 4 (**3"").

Both fortification  Strength  Points  must  be
eliminated first, then one infantry Strength Point.
I'he remaining two Strength Points are retreated

one hex, allowing the invading units to remain on
the coastal hex.



